Patient Reviews

Your care and satisfaction are our top-priority.

Take a look at what our patients are saying about us:

 
1 2 3 4 5 Steven 8/7/2020
Everything was exemplary as usual. Great work done on the spot. I will be back for sure.
 
1 2 3 4 5 June 8/3/2020
Excellent service rendered. Tammy, my hygienist is absolutely wonderful and goes to the extreme to make my cleaning as tolerable as possible. I’ve had lots of dental work over the years so my comfort level is important. Love all the dentists too!! Front office ladies are super, so friendly!!
 
1 2 3 4 5 Barry 7/30/2020
Thank you for the training and precautions your business has incorporated for a safe environment.

 

 
1 2 3 4 5 Jeanette 7/3/2020
Been a patient for about 22 years. Everyone - dentist, staff, hygienist - are very friendly and caring and making sure that you are comfortable all the time that you are there. Would recommend them to anyone.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Rebecca 5/28/2020
I am typically extremely anxious and nervous at the dentist office. I am new to the area and I needed a dentist for an emergency visit. I selected Southern Shores Dental because it was in my network and based on the reviews I read online. I thought the reviews may have been over inflated because they were all so positive and high rating (5 stars). However, after my visit, I couldn’t wait to be the next person to give another 5 – star review. I prefaced my review that I am usually high anxiety but this didn’t happen at Southern Shores Dental. I was greeted by a receptionist who radiated an optimistic, welcoming attitude. Dr. Hartley took her time with me, and explained in detail what my treatment plan was which allowed me to have complete understanding and clear expectations of what to anticipate. She explained complex concepts in a simplistic manner. I left the office with the utmost confidence that the plan she created was the most advantageous for me. The dental assistant was
 
1 2 3 4 5 Edward 5/19/2020
Dr Smith is the absolute best dentist I have seen in the past 30 years. He and his staff are a delight to work with. I have never had better service from a dentist or dental office. My entire family uses Southern Shores and we will not go anywhere else. In fact we changed dental insurance companies to ensure we could stay with Dr Smith and his team
 
1 2 3 4 5 Krysten 5/14/2020
I called on a Monday and was able to be seen the next day. My uncle was my dentist for 36 years in Ohio until my family and I moved to South Carolina June 2018. Of course I felt at ease having my Uncle as my dentist but I felt that exact same feeling from the second I called and spoke to Lindsey on the phone. Lindsey was very personable and did not rush me at all with making an appointment. Tammy took my x-rays and waited with me until Dr. Smith came in chatting about my family and life. I felt so comfortable with Dr. Smith even having major dental issues that needed to be addressed. Dr. Smith talked to me the entire time about his family as well as his career as a dentist. Their office was very clean and had a beachy and warm vibe to it. I requested Tammy as my hygienist for my official cleaning and definitely found a wonderful dentists office at Southern Shores!!!
 
1 2 3 4 5 Treci 4/27/2020
When I called about my emergency, I was asked if I could come today. When I answered 'yes,' I was asked if I could be there at 10am. Excellent service and appointment! Work by Dr. Hartley, whom I had not met, was done quickly and well.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Angela 3/27/2020
First off let me state that I am extremely terrified of going to the dentist. I have been like this since a child. As soon as I walked in the doors all my anxiety went away. Everyone was really nice and made me feel at ease. I was talked through everything that was going to be done step by step. The whole process of my first visit went great and I am actually looking forward to my next visit. Thanks for making me less anxious and not rushing through my appointment. Big thanks for listening to my concerns and taking my anxiety and fears seriously. I would definitely recommend this office to everyone.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Ewa 3/18/2020
I've been a patient for two years and I'm very glad that I found them. The doctor is very nice and I love her job., assistants always do them job great and they are very nice too. Ladies in reception are polite and very helpful with set up new appointments. I do not plan to change my dentist.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Carson 3/13/2020
Front desk is great!
 
1 2 3 4 5 Sharon 3/5/2020 
I'm not the easiest patient in the world and I admit that!! Tammy deserves a big fat medal (or give her an extra paid day off!) because of her patient attitude and professionalism. I'm sure when she sees my name of the schedule she thinks....oh boy....but she certainly never acts like it. Everyone there seems as though they really enjoy their job :)

 

1 2 3 4 5 Bradley 2/19/2020
Great experience with Dr Smith and staff. First class treatment from the time I arrived, like the comfort experience.

 

1 2 3 4 5 June 2/11/2020
Love Southern Shores Dental! Their practice makes you feel special from the moment you first walk in the door. Lindsay is always smiling and very efficient and accommodating. Her friendliness puts the patient at ease. Tammy, my dental hygienist, is the greatest ever!! She’s gentle, compassionate and so good at what she does. My teeth always feel super clean when she finishes cleaning them. She always gives good tips regarding my dental care.. Dr. Jon Smith is a fantastic dentist as is Dr. Caroline Hartley. If you need good dentists, look no further than Southern Shores Dental!! Tracy and Crystal are wonderful hygienists too and super friendly!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Clyde 2/3/2020
This was the most professional and helpful visit that I have had with a dentist in many years. All of my questions were answered to my satisfaction. I will strongly recommend your office to my friends and relatives. I felt like an established patient when I left! Thanks!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Jens 1/16/2020
Very friendly staff, explained everything. Been to several dentist in my years and i never looked forward to returning to the dentist until i came to Southern shore. I actually look forward to my next appointment. I highly recommend Southern Shore. This coming from someone that doesn't enjoy Dentists.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Tracy 1/13/2020
I got a last minute appointment for a dental concern. They were able to see me right away and all were very kind and friendly. I have already talked to friends and recommended Southern Shores. All of my questions were answered and they got me on the road to recovery!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Joel 1/10/2020
Dr.'s Smith and Hartley, dental assistants, hygienists, receptionists, office staff and others are all excellent in their professional and friendly care of their patients. When you've been going to the same dental practice since 1978 and they feel like they're your family, you must be at Southern Shores, the best dental practice in the midlands.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Stephanie 1/9/2020
It is so refreshing to visit a dentist that puts you at ease, and is highly skilled at his job! Thank you Dr. Jon smith for your integrity in maintaining your client's oral health and longevity above turning a quick buck! We hope that you won't retire any time soon!!!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Doris 1/3/2020
I feel like I'm visiting friends when I go for appointments....I wouldn't miss it for the world!

 

1 2 3 4 5 David 12/16/2019
Great staff!!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Christopher 12/15/2019
Excellent care for your dental health! Everyone is friendly and knowledgeable. They truly value their patience!

 

1 2 3 4 5 John 12/14/2019
The Dental Hygienist did an excellent job and was very kind & gentle!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Jalal 12/6/2019
Pleasant greeting and recognition (called out my name as I walked in) and comfortable waiting room ambience and great hygienist and office staff and of course the great doctor Smith.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Marcia 12/3/2019
When we first moved to SC a neighbor recommended you. What a big "gift" this was. We have been totally happy with all aspects of Southern Shore Dental from the competent friendly office staff to the hygienists and the dentist(s). We have and will continue to recommend Southern Shore Dental to our friends and neighbors.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Katherine 11/19/2019
Have been a patient of Dr Smith’s for more than 15 years, and trust him and his staff!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Amy 11/14/2019  
Well really, there is absolutely nothing negative that I could even say. I have been a patient for years and it seems like the service just gets better and better no matter what change they make. I love the staff so much, they put up with my rescheduling of appointments when I have to do it. And there are not words that I can find to describe how wonderful Crystal, my hygienist is. She feels like family to me now. I have very sensitive teeth and she truly takes care of me and is very sensitive to my needs. I do find it a little more expensive than others but I would not leave Crystal for the world. Belinda and Betty save me every time as well.
 
1 2 3 4 5 Ian 11/14/2019:
Great Visit. Probably one of the quickest cleaning and x ray appointments I have ever had.

 

 
1 2 3 4 5 Thomas 11/13/2019:
Highly recommended. Highest quality of service and flexible scheduling options (nights/Saturday) not typically offered by others.
 
 
1 2 3 4 5 Claudia 11/11/2019:
Since my first visit I’ve been very pleased with every aspect of the care given by Dr Smith and his staff. Very professional yet relaxed office atmosphere. It’s obvious the staff enjoy what they do and have a good relationship with each other and Dr Smith. He is very disarming and friendly.


1 2 3 4 5 Mackenzie 11/8/2019:
I had an awesome experience. Crystal was awesome and made me feel very comfortable. She answered all of my questions and made me feel at ease. Dr. Hartley was very nice too. She was easy to talk to and very kind!

 

1 2 3 4 5Irene 6/24/2019: 
Excellent, professional, caring staff, hygentist and dentist.

 

1 2 3 4 5John 6/6/2019:
I needed an urgent appointment to fix a cracked tooth. Southern Shores scheduled me in less than 24 hours. I needed a crown. They stayed 2 hours for an unexpected procedure., past 8:30 p. m. and expedited the lab turnaround. I counted on them, you can too.

 

1 2 3 4 5Michelle 6/6/2019;
Having been a patient of Dr. Jon Smith for 10 years, I would highly recommend him and his staff to anyone looking for a dentist. The staff is always friendly and my visits usually move along with no wait and no issues. Dr. Smith and his staff have taken the time to get to know about me and my spouse (who is a patient there as well) thus making my visits even more comfortable. Having a bit of conversation about life, work, kids and such helps ease any anxiety that there may be about the visit. Thanks for the great job and staff Dr. Smith. My hygienist is spectacular too.
 
 
1 2 3 4 5Treci 6/4/2019:
Great, as always! We have always been happy with Dr. Smith, his staff and both the old and new office. He was recommended by a family already using him back in the emid-90s. Our kids are now all grown and the ones still here are using him and bringing THEIR kids! Thrilled to learn of your new special 3D x-ray machine, too!

 

1 2 3 4 5Marcia 5/30/2019:

 This practice is run in the most professional yet personal manner. The administrative staff, assistants, hygienists and dentists are all responsible for us (my husband and I) recommending Southern Shores Dental to our friends. We have been with this practice for nearly 10 years. Upon our move my husband had a dental issue and one of our new neighbors recommended Dr. Smith. We are now paying this forward!! We especially appreciate that there is no pressure to have unnecessary procedures done as we had experienced in the past.

 

 

1 2 3 4 5E'Lane 5/30/2019:
I had mouth pain and figured it was tooth related ... Dr Hartley examined me and thought it was a bone fragment or debris between my gum and back molar - she numbed me up and did a small incision, removed bone/debris, stitched me up and I’m a little sore but not in the pain i was in upon arrival! She was kind and gentle and instilled great confidence in me that she could fix my issue without an expensive referral to an oral surgeon. Thank you!!

 

1 2 3 4 5Rynn 5/20/2019:
I took both of my children for a cleaning. They are 4.5 and 2.5. Crystal was wonderful with both of them and made sure they were both comfortable and had a great experience! It was so important to me that both of them enjoyed their visit, to set them up for success with their dental health in the future. We are very pleased with Dr. Hartley and are so glad that we made the switch to Southern Shores!

 

1 2 3 4 5 David 1/4/2019:
Great staff! I would recommend this office to anyone.

 

1 2 3 4 5 James 12/19/2018:
This is the best Dentist office I have ever visited; everything was great, the Dr. was exceptional ,best manner I have ever experenced along with the assistant.

 

 
1 2 3 4 5 Floranne 12/9/2018:
DR Hartley is just the best dentist I have ever used

 

1 2 3 4 5 Susan 11/28/2018:
I have been a patient for over 12 years. Dr. Smith has an awesome team of front desk and hygienist. He is a great dentist! Hate going to the dentist but enjoy seeing Dr. Smith and his staff. I would highly recommend him and his office. Did I mention evening and Saturday appointments are so accommodating!!
 
 
1 2 3 4 5 James 11/7/2018:
 VERY kind staff. Neat and CLEAN office. A+++
 
 
1 2 3 4 5 Treci 11/5/2018:
I have been happy with the practice ever since I started visiting, many years ago. The price of service was better than the other practice we we using and we were and are much happier with Dr. Smith and his staff and his charges. I have referred several people to him and the only emergency was a friend at Church. She was able to get in quickly and received wonderful help at a great price. She thanked me a lot for the referral and I hope she continues with you.
 
 
1 2 3 4 5 Tabatha 11/2/2018:
I have major anxiety issues about going to the dentist, but everyone at Southern Shores has been amazing. Everyone from the receptionist to the dentist have been very understanding and helpful. My experiences here have actually helped lessen my anxiety and made the experience much less stressful for me. Thank you.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Lisa 10/29/2018:
I love this dental practice. I am well taken care of from the minute I walk in the door until I leave. I would recommend it to everyone I talk to that needs dental work. The staff is amazing.

 

1 2 3 4  5 John 10/27/2018:
Tammy did an excellent job and was very gentle.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Nancy 10/23/2018:
I have been a patient about 7 months, and I have been extremely satisfied. Crystal has been my hygienist, and she has a great personality always friendly and professional. She is an asset to the practice.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Claire 10/19/2018:
I'm so thankful for having such an awesome dentist & staff.

 

1 2 3 4 5 William 10/19/2018:
This was a first time visit to Southern Shores Dental and I was completely satisfied. They are professional and caring! They are also pleasant and friendly. I would recommend Southern Shores Dental to everyone!!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Tanner 10/18/2018:
We tried Dr. Smith out for our 6 year old who has severe dental anxiety due to past issues with our pediatric dentist. Needless to say, we had a wonderful experience and plan to send our family to this practice from now on. The staff is super friendly and our son had the best experience. Cannot recommend this practice enough!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Mary 10/5/2018:
Friendly, caring and a pleasant experience! 

 

1 2 3 4 5 Rose 10/4/2018:
I was very impressed by the professional staff and the clean, bright waiting room and treatment room. Good experience all round. 
 
1 2 3 4 5 Melissa 10/2/2018:
Absolutely great visit. Office was cozy and clean. All staff was kind, understanding, professional, and went above and beyond. 

 

1 2 3 4 5 Cheryl 10/2/2018:
Always the consummate professional!

 

1 2 3 4 5  Sharon 9/27/2018:
I can't remember the girls name that gave me a tour around the office, Joci maybe? But she was super informative. Tammy (bless her heart she had me as a patient!) was so nice, professional and kind! Dr Smith was also very nice. He took his time to listen and gave some good advice about treatment. Betty was very thorough and accommodating when I made the appointment and when I checked out. I enjoyed my first visit and will thank The Kitchens family again for the referral.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Brad 9/22/2018:
Dr Smith and staff are wonderful and would recommend them to anyone

 

1 2 3 4 5 Richard 9/19/2018:
Good dentist, friendly, competent staff. Great place to go.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Emily 9/13/2018:
We recently relocated to the area from Vermont. I was on the lookout for a dentist. This practice is conveniently located and the sign invited new patients so I stopped by to check it out. The staff was so friendly and welcoming that I didn’t hesitate to make an appointment. I prefer getting referrals but this worked out very well.

 

 
1 2 3 4 5 Thomas 8/30/2018:
I have been with Dr. Jon Smith since he took over the practice of Dr. Barney Austin. He is an excellent dentist and has looked out for my dental health extremely well. He is innovative and on top of the latest technology and techniques. His staff are very friendly and are extremely helpful. I have recommended this practice to both friends and family.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Andrew 8/21/2018:
I have been going to this dentist for years. I would not go to anyone else! Everyone is friendly and professional. Dr. Smith is the best!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Felicia 8/15/2018:
Everyone in the office was very friendly.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Jessica 8/14/2018:
I have been going to a different dentist for years, and my dental anxiety has increased overtime. After receiving a recommendation for care from my previous dentist, I decided to get a second opinion. Dr. Smith came highly recommended from a family member, and I am so glad I listened. He was thorough, and explained all of his treatment plan with certainty and confidence. I had to have a filling done, and after my wonderful experience, I wish I would have switched to him years ago. His staff is very friendly, understanding, and treats each patient according to their dental needs. I have already started recommending friends and family members to him!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Retha 8/14/2018:
I have been going to this office for many years and have.always been treated with friendliness and professionalism.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Joye 8/11/2018:
I have been a client of Dr. Smith ever since he took over for Dr. Austin. I will continue to be a client in the future.

 

1 2 3 4 5 George 8/7/2018:
Very friendly atmosphere and relaxing.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Claire 7/25/2018:
 I love seeing my dentist and all his staff. It's like seeing my extended family twice a year. Everyone cares about each other and having other family members going to the same dentist definitely makes it more personal. I'm so blessed to have them in my life.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Sam 7/20/2018:
Been coming for years & don't plan to change as great service.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Robert 7/19/2018:
Excellent business model with personal service from a truly exceptional staff of professionals—-very impressed!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Jessica 7/13/2018:
I have been going to the same dentist for 10+ years. At my most recent visit their suggested treatment for my teeth was a lot more aggressive than it has been in the past, so I sought a second opinion. Boy am I glad I did! Not only were my suspicions confirmed by Dr Smith, but he and his whole staff were phenomenal. They listened to my concerns and were very understanding about my dental anxiety. Their office was clean and inviting, my wait time was very short, and the overall “feel” of the office was very pleasant. I couldn’t be happier that I switched, my only regret is that I did not go to him sooner!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Robin 7/10/2018:
Always a pleasure to see and be helped by staff, hygienists and Dr. Smith !! The office decor is so beautiful and sparkling clean . This business is a real gem in our community ! And I want to add that my comments are not just in relation to a currently running ( well-thought out , beautifully presented) ad campaign - I've been a patient of Dr. Smith's since he took over the practice from his predecessor, Dr. Austin , quite a few years ago ! Patients receive the highest quality care and genuine smiles all around from Dr. Jon Smith's practice and have since day one!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Shelley 6/28/2018:
Always a pleasure - who else can say that about a dental visit?!

 

1 2 3 4 5 Barbara 6/27/2018:
Every staff member and the Dr. made a courteous, friendly, professional impression. The technology used seems to be very up to date. I felt very comfortable.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Tamara 6/27/2018:
Return visit for crown and fillings - after 3 years of worrying about my teeth, I can finally smile. Occasional pain is gone also.

 

 
1 2 3 4 5 Ann 6/26/2018:
Great atomsphere and friendly staff. Dentist was very gentle with the injection for numbing and so was his assistant. They even have a TV in the room.

 

1 2 3 4 5Curtis 6/16/2018:
This was an emergency appt with Dr. Hartley who saw me as Dr. Smith was on vacation. Dr. Hartley was courteous, very professional and explained my problem with a sensitive tooth. She reviewed the Xray with me and then called and made an appt with a Periodontist who had performed work in the past on this particular tooth. I cannot say enough about the service and attention Dr. Hartley paid to my condition and help in getting an early appt with the Periodontis for met. This is a great dental practice and both dentists here are A-1.

 

1 2 3 4 5 Nancy 5/30/2018:
My initial visit was April 17, and have had two follow up visits for dental procedures. I have been extremely pleased with this practice. Dr. Smith and his staff are fantastic, and make you feel welcomed and comfortable. The office is beautifully decorated in a southern / coastal theme.